So, what are you doing this summer?

8 Jul

I hear this all the time. And it is asked in a way that really says “are you eating bon-bons all summer?” I mean really, I do have a life outside of teaching September through June. And June through August I do the same things as I do the rest of the year, just at a more leisurely pace. Laundry, changing of linens, vacuuming, cleaning bathrooms, grocery shopping, farm market, planning and executing meals all take place. Now, however, I choose one to complete in a day instead of completing it all during Saturday-Sunday. My favorite? Going to the grocery store when they open mid-week! Oh, and I try to take care of all the doctor and dentist appointments during the summer too.

Now that I have been out a bit over two weeks here is some of what I have accomplished:

Rhubarb Pie

Rhubarb Pie

Homemade Granola with Pecans & Crystallized Ginger

Homemade Granola with Pecans & Crystallized Ginger

Peach Rhubarb Pie for July 4!

Peach Rhubarb Pie for July 4!

The project I am working on.

The project I am working on.

In addition to what you see here I have also made a mixed berry pie to take to the neighbors when they invited us for dinner and pizza crust from scratch 4 times.  Pizza on the grill is the best!

I am also taking the How to Learn Math Class and am super-excited to attend TMC13. And hopefully the spouse and I will have the opportunity to get away for a week or weekend or two – it all depends on his job. And, of course, there is SY13-14 to plan. I know I will have a few summer meetings and Mr. W & I are going to reorganize our Algebra 2/Trig curriculum.

So, just because it is July or August, we teachers are not necessarily laying by the pool, eating bon-bons and consuming copious amounts of beverages with umbrellas. Oh, how I wish that was true!

SO, WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER?

One Response to “So, what are you doing this summer?”

  1. Lisa Maloney July 18, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m so shocked!! Really, April, a very nice piece. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

