Sudoku as Review

17 Sep

A while ago I came across a Linear Equations Sudoku puzzle at ilovemath.org. While I liked the idea, it just didn’t meet my requirements, so I decided to make my own!

Functions_review_Sudoku

I have given this to all three of my Algebra 2/Trig classes to review for their quiz tomorrow. Students loved it! They worked for the 20+ minutes we had left in class without complaint and without asking about the grade, and would have kept going if time had not run out. I even had a few students ask for more activities like it. Success!

So, how did I do it? I made a 10 x 10 table in Word, set both the column width and row height to .4.  In the first row label each grid R thru Z and the first column A thru I. Now find a Sudoku puzzle blank from a newspaper, book, etc. and fill in the same location. Use those numbers to find problems with that answer.

This format is powerful – you can use it for just about any type of problem, even quadratics – just put the constraint that solutions for the puzzle must be positive zeros 1-9 inclusive. And, with a Sudoku puzzle in just about every newspaper finding a set-up is fairly easy.

Here are my answers, just in case: Functions_review_Sudoku_Answers

Remember, sharing is caring. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Sudoku as Review”

  1. loukas September 24, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Great stuff! I need to find a way to adapt this.

  2. rachelrosales September 25, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Love this. Thanks for sharing. I’ll be using it as a review when I get my spring term algebra 2 kids.

  3. Cindy September 25, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    This is awesome! Thanks for sharing:)

  4. Anna (@Borschtwithanna) September 29, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Love this! There are also free Sudoku games online so no need to hunt for a newspaper. 🙂

  5. John Burk September 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    My kids loved this, but I think there’s a typo in the clue for IZ. You say find f(2) when w(x)=…, don’t you mean f(2)?

  6. druinok October 6, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    Wow!!! This was amazing! Thanks so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

