Card Games & Board Games

21 Aug

Two weeks ago a fellow math teacher came for a visit. While we were playing a board game we had a very interesting conversation about our students, board games, and calculators. Do they play games or cards? If so, do they sit with a calculator next to them? Does that take the joy out of playing games?

This past weekend while my spouse and I were away, we played many games of cribbage. To pass the time while waiting on others, to pass the time before breakfast was served at the B&B, and to pass the time after dinner (the sidewalks rolled up tight at 5 pm on a Sunday evening). We enjoy playing cards and sometimes even get together with other couples to play pinochle or board games. But these games all involve keeping score and adding one-and-two digit numbers. And, come to think of it, most of our board games also involve keeping score. So, do students of today play board and card games, or has that become “old fashioned”?

5 Responses to “Card Games & Board Games”

  1. abrandnewline August 22, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    I think my favorite part of this whole thing is that you were awake before breakfast. Also that you went to a B & B. Totes jelly.

    The guy in charge of trivia tonight was using an ipad spreadsheet to keep score. Awesome or sad?

    Welcome to the blogosphere, friend.

    Soph

  2. Carby August 22, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    I think families do still play board games. I don’t think it’s become old fashioned. People still play chess and checkers. With ESPN, I think Poker has enjoyed a steady increase in popularity as well. I think there’s still a healthy interest in games. Just that the trend is moving towards app-based games. Angry Birds and Words with Friends still proves that games are cool.

  3. Lois Lindemann (@MoreThanMaths) August 22, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Interesting question. I did a quick poll of some of my students last year and discovered that not many played board games at home. Some said they play what I think of as board games, but they play online versions.

    Despite this, my tutor group invariably choose to play one of the games that I keep in my classroom during their weekly ‘fun’ session. Tutor time only lasts for 15 minutes, but it is the first session of the day. I’ve noticed quite a few students turning up early on games day.

    I’ve not seen any of them keep score with a calculator. I wonder whether that’s because they don’t want to or if it’s because they think I’ll challenge them for doing that?

  4. kaleb40 August 28, 2012 at 12:55 am #

    I think that they play board games, and when they need to keep score some of them just do it wrong and don’t know it. Also, the people they are plying with don’t realize it either. They are oblivious. I did say some. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Bloggers!! Hooray!!! « A Brand New Line - August 22, 2012

    […] named **Reflections from an Asymptote**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Card Games & Board Games“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post is about how I, and my spouse and […]

Leave a Reply

